Championships: George M. Cohen Senior Player of the Year

In 2003, the MGA announced that the MGA Senior Player of the Year award would be named in honor of George M. Cohen, a longtime friend and supporter of the MGA. "Mr. Golf", as most people knew him, passed away in 2002 at the age of 85 but his legacy is one that will be remembered for years to come.

The MGA Senior Player of the Year honor is awarded annually to the senior golfer who excels at various events throughout the season. Performance in MGA, NEGA, USGA and various Regional events is considered.

The George M. Cohen MGA Senior Player of the Year announcement is made annually at the MGA's "Salute to Champions" dinner.

2017 George M. Cohen MGA Senior Player of the Year

Standings as of 8/15/17

Player  Home Club Points
Jack Kearney Elmcrest 180
Frank Vana Marlborough CC 125
Michael Arter LeBaron Hills CC 120
Pat Scanlon Wenham CC 120
David Pierce CC of Halifax 105
Brian Secia Miacomet GC 100
Ronald Laverdiere Crumpin-Fox Club 100
John McNeill BAGS 100
Kevin Carey Dennis Pines GC 95
Jon Fasick New England CC 65
Jim DiBiase Woodland GC 60
John Hadges  Thorny Lea GC 60
Kevin Carrozza Swansea CC 60
Daniel Seigenberg Franklin CC 50
Jim Gerrish Franklin CC 50
Joseph Dimarzio Plymouth CC 40
Carter Fasick Westborough CC 40
Paul Heffernan Charles River CC 35
Joe Walker Dennis Pines GC 35
Andy Congdon Wyantenuck CC 33
Don Reycroft Glen Ellen CC 25
Rick Marcos Poquoy Brook CC 20
Steve Tasho Thorny Lea GC 20
Allen Chase Westminster CC 19
Bill Vine Foxborough CC 19
Dick King Hyannis GC 19
Gary Palmer Segregansett CC 19
Joe Keller Oyster Harbors 19
Marc Forbes Norton CC 19
Paul Couture Pleasant Valley CC 19
Paul Mitchell George Wright GC 19
Cy Kilgore Tedesco CC 15
Bob Linn Berkshire Hills CC 12
Brian Kelley Sterling National 10
David Holmes Blackstone GC 10
Doug Parigian Long Meadow GC 10

Any questions about the Player of the Year System can be directed to Kevin Eldridge (


MGA Noteworthy

  • 2017 Tri-State Matches: The 2017 Tri-State Team announcement will come following the conclusion of the 2017 Massachusetts Mid-Amateur Championship. All points through that event will be considered.
  • 2018 USGA Amateur Four-Ball Sectional Qualifiers: All points received for 2018 USGA Amateur Four-Ball Sectional Qualifiers held in 2017 will count towards the 2018 Richard D. Haskell MGA Player of the Year Point Standings.

POY Links

2017 POY Standings:

2017 Point System Documents:

Player of the Year Archives

©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.