History: Junior Amateur Championship

The MGA launched the Massachusetts Junior Amateur Championship, in 1914 to fill the place of the 'Boston Schoolboy Tourney,' which was not contested as usual in 1913.

An article in the Boston Daily Globe from July 3, 1914 noted: 'There was no schoolboy tournament last year, but the Massachusetts Golf Association decided that the youngsters should have their day, and the State officers plan to hold the tournament annually.'

The tournament has been contested every year since, save for 1917 (World War I) and 1942-1945 (World War II). Many past champions have gone on to successful amateur and professional careers in Massachusetts and beyond. The event annually brings together the area's best young talent to compete in a 54-hole stroke play event, with a cut made after 36-holes.

The pre-junior division was introduced in 1961 for ages 14-15, and the boys division was created in the early 1990's for competitors aged 13 and under - starting in 2015, this division will have its own standalone event - the MGA Boys Junior Amateur Championship.

Past Results

1999 2000 2001 2002
2003 2004 2005 2006
2007 2008 2009 2010
2011 2012 2013 2014

Click for a list of Past Champions

Championship Notes

Only one player in history has won the MGA Junior Amateur, Amateur, and Open Championships. Kevin Johnson was the Junior Champion in 1984, and went on to win the Open Championship in 1986 (as an amateur), and the Amateur Championship in 1987 and 1988.

In addition to Kevin Johnson, only two other players have won both the MGA Junior Amateur and MGA Open Championships in their careers - Jay Dolan (Junior Champion 1956; Open Champion 1979) and Evan Harmeling (Junior Champion 2005; Open Champion 2013).

Eight players have won both the MGA Junior Amateur and MGA Amateur Championships in their careers - Fred Wright, Eddie Lowery, Clark Hodder, Joseph P. Lynch, John Tosca, Jr., Kevin Johnson, James Driscoll, and Ben Spitz.

No player has ever won three or more MGA Junior Amateur Championships. Nine players - Fred Wright, Eddie Lowery, W.H. Donnelly, Jr., Ronnie Mattson, Robert Barclay, Arthur E. Burke III, Rick Karbowski, Antonio Grillo, and Nick McLaughlin - have won the championship twice.

Oakley Country Club and Wollaston Golf Club have each hosted the championship six times, more than any other MGA Member Club.


MGA Noteworthy

  • The 2015 Massachusetts Junior Amateur Championship will be hosted by Hopkinton Country Club. This will be the first time that the club has hosted a major MGA Championship.

Past Champions

Fred Wright (1915-16)
MGHOF Class of 2012

Jon Curran (left) and Peter Uihlein (2001 - Pre-Junior & Boys Winners)

Evan Harmeling (2005)

Tony Grillo (2006-07)

Matthew Naumec (2014)





©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.