And our first championship history page! I have a lot more to add/research but it's a start! Images and files coming in a separate email. Massachusetts Golf Association: Championships: History

History: Open Championship

The Massachusetts Open Championship has a storied history and is widely regarded as one of the best and most competitive state Open Championships in the nation. The list of past champions who have had their names engraved on the Clarence Cochrane Trophy reads like a who's who of the history of golf.

From the early-era champions: Donald Ross, Jesse Guilford, Francis Ouimet, and Walter Hagen...

To mid-century winners: Bob Toski, Gene Sarazen, Byron Nelson, Bob Crowley, Julius Boros, and Paul Harney...

And recent champions: Dana Quigley, Fran Quinn, Kevin Johnson, Geoff Sisk, and Jim Renner...

This event annually brings the top local talent to one of the MGA's premiere Member Clubs to compete for one of the largest state open prizes in the country. The event takes place over the course of three days, with a cut made at the end of 36 holes. Click here to view the Massachusetts Open Championship Media Guide, which contains a list of past champions as well as a comprehensive Championship history.

Past Results

1998 1999 2000 2001
2002 2003 2004 2005
2006 2007 2008 2009
2010 2011 2012 2013


Championship Notes

The Massachusetts Open Championship was first played in 1905 and has been played every year since, except for 1917-1918 (due to World War I) and 1943-1945 (World War II).

The record for most Open victories is six, held by both Alex Ross (1906-1910, 1912) and Geoff Sisk (1995, 1997, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007).

The Championship has been won by an amateur competitor six times - most recently by Kevin Quinn in 1999.

The Oyster Harbors Club has hosted the Championship seven times, more than any other MGA Member Club.

The Championship's final round has gone to a playoff 27 times. 21 of those playoffs were two-way; four were three-way, and just two were four-way - in 1950 and 2014.




MGA Noteworthy

  • Click to view the Massachusetts Open Championship Media Guide
  • The 2015 Massachusetts Open Championship will be hosted by Black Rock Country Club in Hingham. This will be the first time that the club has hosted the Open Championship. It hosted the MGA Senior Amateur Championship in 2011.

Past Champions

Bob Toski (1958)
MGHOF Class of 2012

Paul Harney (1967-70, 1977)
MGHOF Class of 2012

Geoff Sisk (1995, 1997, 2002, 2004, 2006-07)

Jim Renner (2008)




©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.