Championships: History

The Massachusetts Golf Association began conducting Championships in 1903, with the inaugural playing of the Massachusetts Amateur Championship at the Myopia Hunt Club.

Two years later, in 1905, the first-ever Massachusetts Open Championship was contested at Vesper Country Club. Both these events rank among some of the nation's oldest and most storied state championships. The MGA now runs 12 state championships annually.

Information from past years is currently being collected and will be posted as soon as possible. At this time, you can access past results, fun facts, and photos from the Open, Amateur, Junior and Senior Amateur Championships (see links below).

Amateur Championship 1903 Arthur G. Lockwood

Open Championship


Donald Ross

Junior Amateur Championship 1914 Raymond Ouimet

Senior Amateur Championship 1961 William O. Blaney

Father & Son Championship 1977 Addison & Flynt Lincoln

Four-Ball Championship 1981 Walter Sharis & Warren Nelson

Father & Daughter Championship 1981 Fordie & Mary Lou Pitts

Amateur Public Links Championship 1982 Don Reycroft

Mid-Amateur Championship 1984 Peter Drooker

Senior Four-Ball Championship 1997 Fordie Pitts & Ed Fletcher

Super Senior Amateur Championship 2014 Peter Brumme


MGA Noteworthy

  • 2015 will mark the addition of another new MGA Championship when the first annual Boys Amateur Championship will take place at Norfolk Golf Club.
  • In order to further preserve the rich history of golf in Massachusetts, the Massachusetts Golf Hall of Fame was formally created in 2014. Click to learn more!

Past Champions

Fordie & Mary Lou Pitts

William O. Blaney

Donald Ross

Peter Brumme




©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.