Championships: Player of the Year

The MGA annually recognizes outstanding performances by amateur golfers by crowning the Richard D. Haskell Player of the Year, Christopher Cutler Rich Junior Player of the Year and George M. Cohen Senior Player of the Year.

Players earn points throughout the season as outlined by the Player of the Year (POY) system that has been established for each group by the MGA Championship committee. The Players of the Year are honored annually at the Salute to Champions dinner.

2016 MGA Players of the Year

Top - Matt Parziale (Richard D. Haskell MGA Player of the Year),
Bottom Left - Kevin Carey (George M. Cohen Senior MGA Player of the Year)
Bottom Right - James Imai (Christopher Cutler Rich MGA Junior Player of the Year)

MGA Noteworthy

  • 2017 Salute to Champions Dinner: The annual celebration will be held on the second Thursday in 2018.
  • 2018 USGA Amateur Four-Ball Sectional Qualifiers: All points received for 2018 USGA Amateur Four-Ball Sectional Qualifiers held in 2017 will count towards the 2018 Richard D. Haskell MGA Player of the Year Point Standings.

POY Links

2017 Point System Documents:

Player of the Year Archives

©2003- Massachusetts Golf Association. All rights reserved. Site Design by RainCastle Communications, Inc.